Citizens Crime Commission of New York City

A non-partisan non-profit organization working to make criminal justice
and public safety policies and practices more effective through innovation,
research, and education.


Each year the Crime Commission honors individuals for their leadership and service in the criminal justice field through the Crime Commission's Theodore Roosevelt Leadership Award, Distinguished Service Award, Humanitarian Award, and Lifetime Achievement Award.

Theodore Roosevelt Leadership Award
The Theodore Roosevelt Leadership Award recognizes pioneering leadership in the field of criminal justice. The award honors the history of the Crime Commission as it traces its roots back to the late 1800s, when the New York Society for the Prevention of Crime helped bring down Tammany Hall and install Theodore Roosevelt as president of the New York City Board of Police Commissioners.

2019 Recipient: James P. O'Neill, NYPD Commissioner
2018 Recipient: NYC Mayor Bill de Blasio
2017 Recipient: Jeh C. Johnson, Secretary of Homeland Security (2013-2017)
2016 Recipient: Jonathan Lippman, Chief Judge, New York State Court of Appeals (2009-2015)
2015 Recipient: Preet Bharara, U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of New York
2014 Recipient: William J. Bratton, Commissioner, New York City Police Department
2013 Recipient: Robert M. Morgenthau, Manhattan District Attorney (1975-2009)
2012 Recipient: Richard H. Girgenti, National and Americas Leader,
KPMG LLP Forensic Advisory Services
2011 Recipient: Eric T. Schneiderman, New York State Attorney General

Distinguished Service Award
The Distinguished Service Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated an ongoing commitment to criminal justice innovation.

2019 Recipient: Lauren Resnick
2018 Recipient: Lewis Rice
2017 Recipient: Stuart A. Shorenstein, Cozen O'Connor
2016 Recipient: Edward M. Stroz, Executive Chairman, Stroz Friedberg
2015 Recipient: Robert S. Tucker, CEO, T&M Protection Resources
2011 Recipients: Gary Beller and J. Brendan Ryan, Crime Commission Board of Directors

Corporate Leadership Award
2018 Recipient: Pfizer (accepted by John. Clark, Chief Security Officer)

Humanitarian Award
The Crime Commission's Humanitarian Award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the criminal justice field.

2014 Recipient: Howard P. Milstein, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of New York Private Bank & Trust

Lifetime Achievement Award
The Crime Commission's Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes visionary leaders who have demonstrated a life-long commitment to improving public safety.

2014 Recipient: Carolyn McCarthy, U.S. House of Representatives

We are proud of our work and the people who make it possible.

2014 honorees NYPD Commissioner William J. Bratton, Congresswoman Carolyn McCarthy, Howard P. Milstein, with Crime Commission President Richard M. Aborn.

212-608-4700  · ©2021 Citizens Crime Commission of New York City